Connect Golden Hills School Division

Minister Philpott Reveals the Names of the 2016 Canada Day Challenge Winners and Finalists

Congratulations to Santana Schmidt of Carbon Alberta, for being recognized as a finalist in the 2016 Canada Day Challenge. 

Artist Statement

‘What makes me proud to be Canadian? I´m proud to have the freedom of choice, speech and expression, and to be a part of our rich history. I took this photo because I think that the dream catcher represents our First Nations, a group of people who have had a lot of involvement in our country’s history. This photo was taken on my family farm that is over 100 years old. Our farm is one of the many locations on the Prairie Provinces where the First Nations people used to roam hunt and live. Luckily, we have found artifacts on our land that was left for us as evidence of their presence in earlier years. The dream catcher represents strength and unity. What does it mean to have strength and unity? It means coming together as one and being stronger than ever, being united as one as our country does. Working together to make sure that our history, that defines who we are, never gets forgotten.’
– Santana Schmidt


June 10, 2016 – Markham, Ontario – Department of Canadian Heritage

On behalf of the Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage, the Honourable Jane Philpott, Minister of Health, today announced the names of the three national winners and the six finalists of the 2016 Canada Day Challenge.

The national winners are Adele Beaudoin, from Red Deer, Alberta, in the “Write it!” category; Rachel Shen, from Markham, Ontario, in the “Draw it!” category; and Florence Emmanuelle Parent, from Rosemère, Quebec, in the “Snap it!” category.

The finalists are Han Wei (Helen) Luo, from Richmond, British Columbia, and Claire Neufeld, from Winnipeg, Manitoba, in the “Write it!” category; Micah Sammurtok, from Whale Cove, Nunavut, and Grace Du, from Vancouver, British Columbia, in the “Draw it!” category; and Santana Schmidt, from Carbon, Alberta, and Rebecca Stoesz, from Winnipeg, Manitoba, in the “Snap it!” category.

The three national winners will be invited to the biggest celebration in the country, Canada Day on Parliament Hill, on July 1, 2016. They will also have the opportunity to work with a first-class team from the National Film Board of Canada to produce their own short film about their adventure in the region, using an iPad presented by the agency. Other prizes will also be given to the winners and finalists through the support of the various official collaborators.